Why .NET?

Hi,

I'm sorry to bother but I don't understand the logic of switching to .NET Framework. Google'ing .NET shows that it is mostly compared/related to Java (the most compatible yet performancewise the most crippled language IMHO) because of the JIT compilation. I'm not an expert of the .NET but a programmer seen enough. Feel free to correct me if I'm anywhere wrong within the concepts I'm going to mention without being a fanatic of .NET...

I'd like to ask what's a time-critical (since it's a Broadcast) application like ProgDVB has to do with .NET? I have looked at it enough to see it's 'really' easier to use the .NET Framework rather than using ATL, MFC, WinAPI, Asm or others. But I still don't see the point since performancewise AFAIK; .NET (bytecode) < ATL < MFC < WinAPI < Asm...

I know some people won't like these but; I never liked the Visual Basic's dependency-hell. You have to install VB-Runtimes for application to work. Even Microsoft Windows XP SP2 doesn't come equipped with these Runtimes (Micro$oft contradicting itself). Now same is applied with .NET Framework. First v1.1, then v2.0 and now v3.0 which is mandatory in Vista. The easier the coding gets, the farther you shift away from performance. Of course many don't feel a thing since slower the Window$ gets, the faster the hardware become (to compare install XP vs 2000 on minimum requirements for 2000). For the same task of showing a simple message box; Asm (fastest) needs the most LOC (unless you use HLA), .NET needs only few Lines-Of-Code. Choice of coding language is a double-edged sword where the programmer has to balance between performance vs ease of coding...

I would really appreciate if someone with inside knowledge to answer:
1) What was v4x series written in? My best guess is; Visual C++ v6 or higher with MFC since there's no VB dependency-hell, no VCL (Delphi/Builder) looking objects & so on...